collapse

Author Topic: New machine build possibly  (Read 77 times)

Offline rustyshakelford

New machine build possibly
« on: Tue February 13, 2018, 04:50:56 PM »
I bought a kubota rtv and spray rig with boom and gps to do pasture/ranchette spraying with. A friend told me about residential Hydroseeding and now I have an incredible interest in it. For my personal use it could help me get some grass growing at my place that Iíve had a hard time with due to the steepness and poor soil conditions. Really need help with something to hold the soil.

Iíve been considering a vsi 110 or 200 gallon machine but the 200 would be a little much to put in the bed and the 110 seems like it could be a little small. The turbo turf 150p is nice but again a little smaller than I think I want to go. I was to add I have zero experience here but going off what Iíve read and studied up on.

Iím thinking (seriously) of building what I want. I have a decent shop set up that would allow me to fab up most things. So far Iíve been shopping for a 300 gallon tank with larger opening and no legs. 8Ē seems to be all I can find. Figuring 600ish with saddle. Also the sumps are only 1.25Ē and that shouldnít be enough to utilize the size of pump Iíll have.

Found a 3Ētrash pump at northern tool for 1350

Iíll be building this on a channel frame and add probably two axles to help it balance. Should I go with 3Ē valves or are they overkill? 2Ē should be able to take advantage of the flow I would think? Will probably use the layout style of the vsi because of how clean it looks. When I use the bulkhead fittings what goes on the inside of the tank for the jet agitation or are they just 1Ē openings?

Thanks for any and all help. I donít think Iíll save a bunch of money per say but will build just what I want. However, would like to minimize my mistakes by asking the pros

Brett

Offline Turboguy

• Administrator
  • Forum Legend
  • Beaver Falls, PA
    • Turbo Turf HydroSeeding Systems